comscore USC, Miami among 2017 Diamond Head Classic teams | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Sports Breaking | Top News

USC, Miami among 2017 Diamond Head Classic teams

  • STAR-ADVERTISER / DEC. 25, 2009

    University of Southern California basketball player Dwight Lewis drives past Justin Hawkins of the University of Nevada Las Vegas during a basketball game at the Stan Sheriff Center during the 2009 Diamond Hed Classic.

The 2017 field of the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic will feature a past champion and two former Western Athletic Conference foes of host Hawaii, organizers announced today.

The eight-team field is: Akron (Mid-American Conference); Davidson (Atlantic 10); Miami (Atlantic Coast); Middle Tennessee (Conference USA); New Mexico State (WAC); USC (Pac-12); Utah State (Mountain West); and UH (Big West). All except Utah State participated in either the NCAA Tournament or NIT this spring. The nationally televised games will be on the traditional holiday dates of Dec. 22, 23 and 25 at the Stan Sheriff Center.

USC won the first DHC in 2009. NMSU and USU were regular foes in the old WAC.

This year’s Diamond Head Classic takes place on Dec. 22, 23 and 25, between Tulsa, Stephen F. Austin, San Diego State, Southern Miss, San Francisco, Utah, Illinois State and UH.

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature
Comments (0)

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Terms of Service. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. Report comments if you believe they do not follow our guidelines.

Having trouble with comments? Learn more here.

Leave a Reply

Scroll Up