comscore Submissions sought for local literary awards | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Briefs | Features

Submissions sought for local literary awards

  • DENNIS ODA / 2017

    Local author Craig Santos Perez, pictured here teaching his “Eco-Poetry” class at UH-Manoa, won a national award for his book in 2016. Deadline for nominations in next year’s 2017 Cades Awards is Feb. 28, 2018.

Read any good books lately?

The Cades Foundation and the Hawai‘i Literary Arts Council is seeking nominations for the 2017 Elliot Cades and Loretta Petrie Awards.

The annual Cades Awards for Literature recognize work by Hawaii residents in any literary genre. The 2016 award for an established artist went to Craig Santos Perez, author of four books of poetry and recipient of a 2016 Lannan Literary Fellowship. Christy Passion, whose debut poetry collection, “Still Out of Place,” appeared in 2016, won the emerging artist award. The Petrie Awards celebrate supporters of local writing.

The deadline for nominations is Feb. 28. Request forms from or write HLAC, PO Box 11213 Moiliili Station, Honolulu HI 96828.

Comments (0)

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Terms of Service. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. Report comments if you believe they do not follow our guidelines.

Having trouble with comments? Learn more here.

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature

Scroll Up