Sunday, November 29, 2015         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

Moon appoints 4 lawyers to district bench


Chief Justice Ronald Moon appointed four lawyers yesterday to six-year terms on the Honolulu district court bench.

The four are Sherri-Ann Iha, supervising deputy prosecutor in the misdemeanor jury demand division; Steven Nakashima, a partner with Marr Jones & Wang; Michael Tanigawa, a staff attorney with the Intermediate Court of Appeals; and Matthew Viola, a sole practitioner and a part-time district judge.

The appointments are subject to Senate review.

Under the state Constitution, the chief justice appoints district judges to six-year terms. The governor appoints judges to the Circuit Court, the Intermediate Court of Appeals and the Hawaii Supreme Court for 10-year terms.

The chief justice and governor must make their appointments from lists of candidates submitted by the Judicial Selection Commission.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions

Latest News/Updates