comscore New Police Commission chairman selected to replace Christine Camp | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Top News

New Police Commission chairman selected to replace Christine Camp



The Honolulu Police Commission elected a new chairman today to replace Christine Camp, who resigned from the position earlier this month.

Marc C. Tilker will serve a one-year term as chairman, and Craig Watase will serve as vice-chairman, the commission voted today.

The seven-member Police Commission is responsible for hearing complaints against officers, making recommendations on the budget, and completing an annual review of the top officer.  

Tilker, who is one of the principal owners of the Marathon Group of Companies and owner of BEI Hawaii, has been on the commission for about 18 months, previously serving as vice chairman.

Camp, whose five-year term would have ended December 2011, served as chairwoman during the controversial hiring process for Police Chief Louis Kealoha. Some involved in the process complained because extra names were added to list of final candidates.

Tilker said Camp resigned for business reasons. She did not return a call for comment. 

The Honolulu City Council must confirm Corlis Chang, who was appointed by Mayor Mufi Hannemann, to serve out the remainder of Camp’s term.


Comments have been disabled for this story...

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature

Scroll Up