comscore Isle students vie for national award | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Hawaii News

Isle students vie for national award

Honolulu Star-Advertiser logo
Unlimited access to premium stories for as low as $12.95 /mo.
Get It Now

Sixty-four Hawaii high school seniors have been named semifinalists in the 56th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

They are among about 16,000 semifinalists announced Sept. 15 by the National Merit Scholarship Corp. The program honors students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies. They will continue in the competition for some 8,400 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $36 million, that will be offered next spring, a release said.

Final winners of 2011 will be announced in four news releases from April to July. For more information about the competition, visit

Hawaii’s semifinalists are:

» From Oahu —

Damien Memorial High School: Chaz Curet.

Hawaii Baptist Academy: Brandon E. Arakawa.

‘Iolani School: Ian R. Akamine, Sean K. Chambers, Richard W. Chang, Tyler L. Cundiff, Lauren K. Faris, Khaydan E. Gabriel, Mark Grozen-Smith, Michelle C. Huang, Zhenghua Huang, Shelby U. Isa, John S. Ishida, Sho Kajima, Jeffrey Y. Kawahara, Victoria S. Kim, Jaylen R. Kohara, Christina Y. Liu, Erin Lundy, Spencer T. Luther, Teresa Y. Ou, David M. Pham, Kim M. Roy, Jamie S. Takayesu, Tyler K. Tokunaga, Colin C. Tseng, Joshua F. Whiteley, Kira M. Wong, Andrew X. Wu, Andrew Zhou, John T. Zobian.

Kamehameha Schools: Daniel D. Brauer, Maile K. Hollinger, Bryson K. McFeeley, Manuokalani A. Tupper.

Maryknoll High School: Kimberly S. Kidani.

Mid-Pacific Institute: Justin G. Little.

Punahou School: Kathleen S. Barfield, Kainoa A. Bostock, Ryan C. Catalani, Karen H. Chang, Crescent Y. Cheng, Amy L. den Dulk, OJ G. Haugen, Colin P. Hong, Michael A. Kelly, Alda Lam, Ryan M. Lau, Nicholas K. Lee, Sarah A. Loui, Ashley A. Miyasaki, David S. Neiman, Alexander W. Pang, Alexandra W. Pleus, Kimberly M. Schaefer.

Kahuku High School: Gabriella E. Henrie.

Mililani High School: William C. Gaul.

» From the Big Island —

Hilo High School: Hannah L. Rojeski.

Kealakehe H.S.: Geoffrey S. Whitener.

Parker School: Edward J. Hon, Mary L. Kamitaki, Elliott A. Warkus.

» From Kauai —

Island School: Alexandra C. Mink-Flacco.

» From Maui —

Seabury Hall: Miles C. Kelsey.

Comments have been disabled for this story...

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature

Scroll Up