comscore Comedy Awards hail Letterman, Fey and ’South Park’ | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Every act of aloha counts. Click here to DONATE to the MAUI RELIEF Fund.
Top News

Comedy Awards hail Letterman, Fey and ’South Park’

Honolulu Star-Advertiser logo
Unlimited access to premium stories for as low as $12.95 /mo.
Get It Now

NEW YORK >> David Letterman, Tina Fey and Louis C.K. were among the laugh-getters honored Saturday night at the first annual Comedy Awards.

At the presentation held by Comedy Central, Alec Baldwin (”30 Rock”) and Kristen Wiig (“Saturday Night Live”) won as Best Comedy Actor and Actress in Television.

Tina Fey (“Date Night”) and Zach Galifianakis (“Dinner for Schmucks”) were awarded Best Comedy Actress and Actor in Film.

“Modern Family” received the award for Best Comedy Series, while “The Other Guys” was named Best Comedy Film.

“The Daily Show with Jon Stewart” won for Best Late-Night Comedy Series, “South Park” for Animated Comedy Series and “Toy Story 3” for Animated Comedy Film.

“Louis C.K.: Hilarious” won for Best Standup Special and “Childrens Hospital” received the award for Sketch Comedy-Alternative Comedy Series.

Daniel Tosh was chosen by fans to receive the Breakthrough Performer award. “Auto-Tune the News: Bed Intruder Song” was elected by fans as Best Viral Original.

Eddie Murphy was honored with the previously announced Comedy Icon Award, while David Letterman received the night’s highest honor as the first recipient of the Johnny Carson Award for Comedic Excellence.

The Comedy Awards will air on April 10 on Comedy Central and other Viacom-owned networks including Nick at Nite, VH1 and TV Land.

Comments have been disabled for this story...

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature

Scroll Up