comscore Te’o is finalist for Maxwell, Bednarik awards | Honolulu Star-Advertiser

Te’o is finalist for Maxwell, Bednarik awards


Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel and Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o are the finalists for the Maxwell Award, which goes to the nation’s top college football player.

The finalists for the Maxwell and several other awards to be presented Dec. 6 in Orlando on ESPN were announced Tuesday.

Te’o is also a finalist for the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the top defensive player in the country. South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney and Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones are the other finalists.

Klein, Manziel and Ohio State’s Braxton Miller are the finalists for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

Finalists for other awards:

>> Biletnikoff Award (top receiver): Stedman Bailey, West Virginia; Marqise Lee, Southern California; Terrance Williams, Baylor.

>> Outland Trophy Interior Lineman: Jonathan Cooper, North Carolina; Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M; Barrett Jones, Alabama.

>> Jim Thorpe Award (top defensive back): Johnathan Banks, Mississippi State; Dee Milliner, Alabama; Phillip Thomas, Fresno State.

>> Doak Walker Award (top running back): Montee Ball, Wisconsin; Kenjon Barner, Oregon; Johnathan Franklin, UCLA.

No postseason for Miami

CORAL GABLES, Fla. >> Miami is self-imposing a second straight postseason ban on its football program because of an NCAA investigation that is expected to eventually lead to stiff sanctions against the Hurricanes.

The decision ends Miami’s hopes of winning the Atlantic Coast Conference’s Coastal Division.

Georgia Tech will represent the Coastal Division in the ACC title game.

Florida QB Driskel ready

GAINESVILLE, Fla. >> Florida quarterback Jeff Driskel is ready to play, but it is uncertain if he’ll start.
Coach Will Muschamp said Driskel will return from a sprained right ankle Saturday when the No. 6 Gators play at 10th-ranked Florida State. But Muschamp stopped short of declaring Driskel the starter.

“He will play in the game,” Muschamp said. “To what degree? Again, the week will determine that.”

UTEP coach Price resigns

EL PASO, Texas >> UTEP coach Mike Price is retiring after a 31-year career.

Price, in his ninth season at UTEP, led the Miners to 8-4 records and bowl games his first two years there, but hasn’t had a winning mark since.

He has a 177-182 career record entering his final game Saturday. The Miners are 3-8 this season.

Comments have been disabled for this story...

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature

Scroll Up