comscore Editorial: Our choices for today’s election | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Editorial | Our View

Editorial: Our choices for today’s election

Nearly one-fourth of Hawaii’s registered voters have already cast their ballots for today’s general election, thanks to early-voting methods such as mail-in ballots or early walk-in at satellite city halls or civic hubs. To the remaining three-fourths: Make the time to head to your polling precinct, to do your part to counter Hawaii’s notoriously low election turnout. Polls open today from 7 a.m to 6 p.m.

More than 180,000 have already voted, out of 756,751 registered voters for the general election, said the state Office of Elections.

And an important reminder: For the first time ever, election-day registration is open for residents who are eligible to vote but haven’t registered. To do so: Go to the polling precinct as determined by your home address — see or call (808) 453-VOTE — with a form of acceptable ID (such as a Hawaii driver license, military ID or passport) plus a current utility bill, bank statement, paycheck or other official document showing your name and address.

Another timely reminder: The proposed constitutional amendment about a school surcharge on investment property is moot, even though it appears on the ballot. The question was invalidated by the Hawaii Supreme Court last month, but due to preprinting, was unable to be physically deleted.

This is not to be confused with a separate question on whether to convene a convention to amend the state Constitution, which is still alive. Let’s hope objective signage or information at polling precincts will clarify this for voters , since it’s bound to cause confusion.

Here’s a recap of the Star-Advertiser editorial board’s endorsement for Oahu’s contested races. Ultimately, of course, the choice is yours. Take the time to have a say in your, and Hawaii’s, future.

Governor and lieutenant governor: David Ige and Josh Green

U.S. Senate: Mazie Hirono

U.S. House: Ed Case (1st District); Tulsi Gabbard (2nd District)

State Senate:

>> District 12 (Kakaako-Waikiki): Sharon Moriwaki

>> District 17 (Waipahu-Pearl City-Pacific Palisades): Clarence Nishihara

>> District 18 (Mililani-Waikele- Kunia): Michelle Kidani

>> District 19 (Ewa Beach- Iroquois Point): Matt LoPresti

>> District 21 (Kalaeloa- Waianae-Makaha): Maile Shimabukuro

State House:

>> District 17 (Kalama Valley- Hawaii Kai): Gene Ward

>> District 18 (Hahaione Valley- Aina Haina-Kahala): Mark Hashem

>> District 20 (Palolo-Kaimuki): Calvin Say

>> District 22 (Waikiki-Ala Moana): Tom Brower

>> District 27 (Nuuanu-Alewa Heights): Takashi Ohno

>> District 30 (Sand Island-Kalihi- Airport): No endorsement

>> District 36 (Mililani-Mililani Mauka-Waipio Acres): Marilyn Lee

>> District 37 (Mililani-­Waipio­-Waikele): Ryan Yamane

>> District 40 (Ewa Beach- Iroquois Point): Bob McDermott

>> District 41 (Ewa Villages-Ewa Beach): Chris Fidelibus

>> District 46 (Wahiawa- Whitmore Village): Amy Perruso

>> District 47 (Waialua-Kahuku- Waiahole): Sean Quinlan

>> District 50 (Kailua-Kaneohe Bay): Cynthia Thielen

>> District 51 (Kailua-Lanikai- Waimanalo): Chris Lee

City Council:

>> District 4 (Hawaii Kai-Ala Moana Park): Trevor Ozawa

>> District 8 (Lower Aiea-Waipahu): Brandon Elefante

Office of Hawaiian Affairs — the strong theme here is new blood for OHA, so no incumbents:

>> Maui resident trustee (1 seat): Ke‘eaumoku Kapu

>> Oahu resident trustee (1 seat): Esther Kia‘aina

>> At-large trustee (3 seats; we endorse two candidates): William Aila and Brendon Kalei‘aina Lee

Ballot questions:

>> On the state constitutional convention question, “Shall there be a convention to propose a revision of or amendments to the Constitution?”: No

>> On the proposed City Charter amendment, relating to the number of board members for the Honolulu Authority for Rapid Transportation: Yes

Comments (7)

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Terms of Service. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. Report comments if you believe they do not follow our guidelines.

Having trouble with comments? Learn more here.

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature

Scroll Up