comscore Russia bans 18 Americans after similar U.S. move | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Top News

Russia bans 18 Americans after similar U.S. move


MOSCOW >> Russia is banning 18 Americans from entering the country in response to Washington imposing sanctions on 18 Russians for alleged human rights violations.

The list released Saturday by the Foreign Ministry includes John Yoo, a former U.S. Justice Department official who wrote legal memos authorizing harsh interrogation techniques; David Addington, the chief of staff for former Vice President Dick Cheney; and two former commanders of the Guantanamo Bay detention center.

The move comes a day after the United States announced its sanctions under the Magnitsky Law, which Russia regards as interference in its internal affairs.

Foreign Ministry spokesman Alexander Lukashevicvh said in a statement Saturday that the U.S. sanctions struck “a strong blow to bilateral relations and joint trust.”

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature
Comments have been disabled for this story...

Scroll Up