comscore Hawaii judges, law professor to be honored | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Top News

Hawaii judges, law professor to be honored

Honolulu Star-Advertiser logo
Unlimited access to premium stories for as low as $12.95 /mo.
Get It Now

Retired Intermediate Court of Appeals Chief Judge James "Jim" S. Burns; the late Jon M. Van Dyke, University of Hawaii law professor; and Hawaii Supreme Court Associate Justice Simeon Acoba will be honored Nov. 1 at a fundraising dinner for the Hawaii chapter of the American Judicature Society.

Burns will receive the chapter’s Lifetime Achievement Award that recognizes his contributions to improve the justice system in the state.

Van Dyke, who passed away two years ago, will be posthumously honored with the national Herbert Harley Award. This award, named for the society’s founder, is the state award that is bestowed on individuals who make outstanding efforts and contributions to improve the administration of justice in their states.

Acoba is also being presented with a national award – the Ninth Annual Dwight D. Opperman Award for Judicial Excellence. 

The event will begin at 5:30 p.m. with no-host cocktails, to be followed by dinner at 6:30 p.m. at the Waialae Country Club, 

Comments have been disabled for this story...

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature

Scroll Up