comscore Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa wins Walter Camp and Maxwell awards | Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Sports Breaking | Top News

Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa wins Walter Camp and Maxwell awards


    Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa carried the ball against The Citadel on Nov. 17 in Tuscaloosa, Ala.

Alabama sophomore quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, one of three finalists for Saturday’s Heisman Award, won the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award and the Maxwell Award for best all-around player during today’s ESPN College Football Awards Show in Atlanta.

The last five winners of the Walter Camp have gone on to win the Heisman, but only five Heisman winners have failed to win Associated Press Player of the Year since the award started in 1998. Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray was named the AP player of the year Wednesday, and was chosen as the Davey O’Brien Award winner as the nation’s top quarterback today.

Tagovailoa, a 2017 Saint Louis School graduate, beat out Murray, Washington State quarterback Gardner Minshew II, West Virginia quarterback Will Grier and Kentucky linebacker Josh Allen for the Camp Award. Tagovailoa won the Maxwell over fellow finalists Murray and Grier.

Murray won over Tagovailoa and Minshew for the O’Brien.

Comments (4)

By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Terms of Service. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. Report comments if you believe they do not follow our guidelines.

Having trouble with comments? Learn more here.

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature

Scroll Up