Sunday, November 29, 2015         

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

No. 14 Iowa State takes Diamond Head Classic title

By Star-Advertiser staff

LAST UPDATED: 6:47 a.m. HST, Dec 26, 2013

DeAndre Kane scored 23 points and Melvin Ejim had 15 points and 10 rebounds to lead No. 14 Iowa State to the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic championship over Boise State, 70-66, on Christmas night at the Stan Sheriff Center.

Kane, the Cyclones' primary distributor, was awarded tourney Most Valuable Player honors.

Boise State (10-3) tied it at 60 on a 3-pointer by Derrick Marks with four minutes left. The Broncos' Jeff Elorriaga hit three free throws to get BSU within 65-63 with 1:25 to go, but ISU (11-0) remained in control from there.

Hawaii guard Brandon Spearman was named to the DHC all-tournament team, along with Kane and ISU forwards Melvin Ejim, Georges Niang and BSU guard Anthony Drmic.

 Print   Email   Comment | View 0 Comments   Most Popular   Save   Post   Retweet

You must be subscribed to participate in discussions

Latest News/Updates