comscore Victorino wins fourth Gold Glove | Honolulu Star-Advertiser

Victorino wins fourth Gold Glove

    Boston's Shane Victorino rounded first base and celebrated his grand slam Saturday that put the Red Sox in the World Series.

Shane Victorino of the Red Sox was one of four players in the World Series to win a Gold Glove Award on Tuesday.

The awards recognize superior defense in each of the leagues.

Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina won his sixth straight Gold Glove.

Other Gold Glove winners playing in the Series are Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia and Cardinals pitcher Adam Wainwright.

The Gold Glove is Victorino’s fourth, the first three coming in the National League.

Colorado third baseman Nolan Arenado became the 10th rookie to win a Gold Glove and first since Seattle outfielder Ichiro Suzuki in 2001. Atlanta shortstop Andrelton Simmons and Baltimore third baseman Manny Machado also were among the eight first-time recipients.

The Orioles and Royals had three winners apiece, tied for the most of any team. Kansas City left fielder Alex Gordon won his third in a row, while first baseman Eric Hosmer and catcher Salvador Perez each received their first.

“I’ve got a trophy case back in Lincoln, (Neb.), so this one won’t be the chip-and-dip tray. This one will actually go up in the trophy case,” Gordon said. “It means a lot. The first one was pretty special, just because it’s the first one, but to be able to share it with two teammates makes this one the best one of all.”

Since 1957, Rawlings has presented Gold Gloves to the finest fielders at their positions in each league. 

Managers and coaches vote for players in their league but cannot select their own guys. For the first time this year, Rawlings added a sabermetric element to the balloting. The SABR Defensive Index made up about 25 percent of the process. 


(With player, team and Gold Gloves won)


P R.A. Dickey, Toronto, 1
C Salvador Perez, Kansas City, 1
1B Eric Hosmer, Kansas City, 1
2B Dustin Pedroia, Boston, 3
SS J.J. Hardy, Baltimore, 2
3B Manny Machado, Baltimore, 1
LF Alex Gordon, Kansas City, 3
CF Adam Jones, Baltimore, 3
RF Shane Victorino, Boston, 4


P Adam Wainwright, St. Louis, 2
C Yadier Molina, St. Louis, 6
1B Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona, 1
2B Brandon Phillips, Cincinnati, 4
SS Andrelton Simmons, Atlanta, 1
3B Nolan Arenado, Colorado, 1
LF Carlos Gonzalez, Colorado, 3
CF Carlos Gomez, Milwaukee, 1
RF Gerardo Parra, Arizona, 2

Comments have been disabled for this story...

Click here to see our full coverage of the coronavirus outbreak. Submit your coronavirus news tip.

Be the first to know
Get web push notifications from Star-Advertiser when the next breaking story happens — it's FREE! You just need a supported web browser.
Subscribe for this feature

Scroll Up