Honolulu Star-Advertiser

Saturday, July 13, 2024 76° Today's Paper


OSU’s Fink sets course record

David Fink found his golf game in time to capture a second straight Manoa Cup last month. The ‘Iolani graduate remains on a roll.

Fink set a course record and earned medalist honors Monday at the 110th Pacific Northwest Men’s Amateur Championship, in Bend, Ore. Eight birdies gave Fink a 5-under-par 67, the competitive course record at Tetherow Golf Club.

Fink tied Oregon State teammate Matt Rawitzer at 7-under 137 for the two-day qualifying, then birdied the first playoff hole to earn the No. 1 seed. Fink’s drive missed the fairway, but his approach hit the flagstick.

Fink won his first-round match Tuesday, 3 and 1, over Tyler Parker of Portland. Fink lost the sixth to fall 1 down, but played the final 12 holes in 1 over and did not lose another hole.

Makawao’s Alex Chiarella also won his first round match, 5 and 4, over Oregon’s Tyler Simpson. Chiarella won seven of the last nine holes.

The second and third rounds are today.

USF golfer looks to repeat

Alika Bell will defend his title at the Barber’s Point Invitational, which tees off today and ends Saturday.

Bell, about to enter his sophomore year at the University of San Francisco, is paired with 2010 state high school champion Rudy Cabalar Jr. the first two days. A year ago, Cabalar strung together six straight birdies to overtake Bell on the final day. Bell ultimately won by three.

Barber’s Point again boasts a strong amateur field, ranging from Brandan Kop, Mike Kawate and Matthew Ma to Sean Maekawa, Ryan Kuroiwa and Corey Oride. The senior flight includes former Manoa Cup champ Jonathan Ota, Paul Kimura, Phil Anamizu and Wendell Kop. The field of about 160 also has A and B Flights.

Golfers tee off starting at 7 a.m. the first two days. The field will be cut in half Friday night and the championship flight goes out around 8 a.m. Saturday, with the final group expected to finish about 1 p.m.

HSWGA extends deadline

The entry deadline for next week’s Hawaii State Women’s Golf Association Match Play Championship has been extended to Monday. The tournament begins Wednesday with qualifying and the first round. Semifinals are next Thursday, with the final starting at 7 a.m. next Friday at Oahu Country Club.

Nicole Sakamoto will defend her title. The James Madison senior defeated 12-year-old Mariel Galdiano in last year’s final. Two-time champ Cyd Okino, headed to Washington this fall, is also in. Galdiano is in Illinois at the U.S. Girls Junior.

Sakamoto and Galdiano also went 1-2 in last year’s Hawaii State Stroke Play Championship. This year’s tournament is July 26-28 at Mid-Pacific Country Club. The first two days serve as a qualifier for the USGA Women’s State Team Championship. The top three qualify to represent Hawaii in Georgia in October.

Play begins around 9 a.m. each day and the entry fee is $170.

Call 285-4992 for more information on match play and 262-2428 for stroke play.

Porter-King honored

When Hawaii State Junior Golf Association President Mary Bea Porter-King was honored with the Metropolitan Golf Writers Association Distinguished Service Award last month in New York, she joined distinguished company. The honor dates back to 1977 and previous awardees include David Fay, Judy Bell, Tom Watson, Robert Trent Jones, Ray Volpe, the LPGA and PGA of America.

Porter-King, who lives on Kauai, is the only LPGA player to serve on the USGA Executive Committee and was the fourth woman to serve in the organization’s 100-plus year history. She is also the first LPGA member on the PGA of America board. She has officiated at more than 90 national championships, including 10 U.S. and U.S. Senior Opens and 15 U.S. Women’s Opens, as well as five Masters and PGA Championships and a British Open.

Honolulu’s Zachary Braunthal and Sarah Hasselman parlayed exemptions given to the HSJGA into

Top-11 finishes at last week’s W. Duncan MacMillan Classic. The AJGA tournament was played at Rush Creek Golf Club, in Maple Grove, Minn.

Braunthal tied for 10th in a field of 72 boys with rounds of 75-70-73. Miami’s Juan Yumar, also a 2013 graduate, won by five shots with a total of 206.

Hasselman got a share of 11th in a field of 24 girls, with rounds of 73-80-77. The winner was Wisconsin’s Casey Danielson, at 214.

The HSJGA got AJGA exemptions for two more tournaments this month. Jonah Fonacier and Lisa Kang are playing in this week’s AJGA Junior in Medford, Ore., and Andrew Paisley and Brittany Fan are in the Lockton Kansas City Junior, in Missouri, July 25-28.

HPU has new coach

Hawaii Pacific named Steven Lorick its new golf coach this week. Lorick earned his MBA at Georgetown and is a also a graduate of The Golf Academy of America and Titleist Performance Institute. He specializes in golf fitness. Brent Curry, HPU’s sports information director, will be Lorick’s assistant. Lorick played football at Morehouse and is a former Army Ranger. He currently runs HyBridZone, a sports performance and business consulting company here.


» Friday is the entry deadline for the Maui Open. The tournament, now presented by Maui Toyota, will be Aug. 5-7 at The Dunes at Maui Lani. Championship flight includes professionals, seniors (50-older), super seniors (60-older) and amateurs with a June 2011 USGA-approved handicap index of 6.2 or better. For more information, visit open.mauigolf.org or call 808-873-0422.

» Forty pros will play in next week’s Aloha Section PGA Professional Championship at Poipu Bay. The 36-hole tournament tees off Monday at 11 a.m., with Tuesday’s final round starting at 7 a.m. The field includes Eric Dugas, who won the Kona Open by eight last month, and Kevin Hayashi.

» Princeville Makai on Kauai is offering a new “Nine, Wine & Dine” special. For $100 (plus tax), golfers can play nine holes in the afternoon (after 3 p.m.) and get a $50 gift certificate for any of The St. Regis Princeville Resort restaurants, lounges, or Halele‘a Spa. The special is available through September.

» First Tee of Hawaii’s fifth anniversary golf tournament will be Aug. 24 at Turtle Bay. The cost is $250 per player and the format is two-person teams. More than 900 juniors on Oahu, Molokai, Maui and Hawaii participate in the program. For information, contact executive director Ken Zitz at 478-3466 or kwz711@hawaii.rr.com.

Comments are closed.